site index
free ebook & free updates

 Subscribe now & get new articles delivered to your inbox PLUS a FREE copy of my Beautiful Calm eBook.

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner

or Subscribe with RSS


type in the box to search

our meditation & relaxation downloads











« More than a material body | Main | The Purpose of Ayurveda »

The 8 Branches of Ayurveda

Ayurveda is a complete science that gives detailed instruction on the treatment of all or any disease.

It’s eight specialised branches of treatment are:

internal medicine
treatment of diseases of the head and neck (ear, nose & throat healthcare)
surgery (removal of foreign bodies, repair and reconstruction)
toxicology - care of conditions caused by natural or artificial poisons
psychology - care of the mind and spirit
paediatrics - healthcare & treatment of diseases specific to children
fertility treatment - strengthening the reproductive potential of the body

and finally - geriatrics - or rather the prevention of. This area of ayurveda is called rasayana and it concerns nourishing and protecting the body from ageing. Ayurveda is unique in its presentation of natural foods that maintain youth and prevent the premature decay of the body or decline of its health.

Related Articles on Ayurveda:

PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend